Lionel Messi wins 2019 Ballon d'Or

Lionel Messi claimed his sixth Ballon d'Or last night, pipping Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk by just seven points to claim the prestigious award

In the voting, which was conducted among each nation's top journalists as well as captains and managers of national team sides, Van Dijk picked up the most votes from the Europe and Asia, while Messi topped the charts in each of the other four confederation areas.

28. Joao Felix - Atletico Madrid and Portugal (0 points)

28. Marquinhos - Paris Saint-Germain and Brazil (0 points)

28. Donny van de Beek - Ajax and Netherlands (0 points)

26. Karim Benzema - Real Madrid and France (1 point)

26. Georginio Wijnaldum - Liverpool and Netherlands (1 point)

24. Marc-Andre Ter Stegen - Barcelona and Germany (2 points)

24. Kalidou Koulibaly - Napoli and Senegal (2 points)

23. Hugo Lloris - Tottenham Hotspur and France (3 points)

22. Heung-Min Son - Tottenham Hotspur and South Korea (4 points)

20. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - Arsenal and Gabon (5 points)

20. Dusan Tadic - Ajax and Serbia (5 points)

19. Trent Alexander-Arnold - Liverpool and England (8 points)

18. Antoine Griezmann - Barcelona and France (9 points)

17. Roberto Firmino - Liverpool and Brazil (11 points)

16. Sergio Aguero - Manchester City and Argentina (12 points)

15. Matthijs de Ligt - Juventus and Netherlands (13 points)

14. Kevin De Bruyne - Manchetser City and Belgium (14 points)

13. Eden Hazard - Real Madrid and Belgium (25 points)

12. Raheem Sterling - Manchester City and England (30 points)

11. Frenkie de Jong - Barcelona and Netherlands (31 points)

10. Riyad Mahrez - Manchester City and Algeria (33 points)

9. Bernardo Silva - Manchester City and Portugal (41 points)

8. Robert Lewandowski - Bayern Munich and Poland (44 points)

7. Alisson Becker - Liverpool and Brazil (67 points)

6. Kylian Mbappe - Paris Saint-Germain and France (89 points)

5. Mohamed Salah - Liverpool and Egypt (178 points)

4. Sadio Mane - Liverpool and Senegal (347 points)

3. Cristiano Ronaldo - Juventus and Portugal (476 points)

2. Virgil van Dijk  - Liverpool and Netherlands (679 points)

1. Lionel Messi - Barcelona and Argentina (686 points)

Meanwhile, Liverpool's Alisson Becker won the inaugural Yachine trophy as the best goalkeeper of 2019, while Juventus' Matthijs de Ligt won the Kopa trophy for the best under-21 player of the year, beating the likes of Kai Havertz, Samuel Chukwueze and Jadon Sancho to the prize.Ballon d'Or

More from Sport

  • Motorsport UK eBRC Champion crowned

    Scottish driver Alan Scott has been crowned the inaugural PCSpecialist Esports British Rally Champion (eBRC). Scott lifts the first Motorsport UK Esports title, and with it a test drive in a Ford Fiesta R2T with front-running BRC team EDSL Sport.


    The Swindon to Bradford Club Tour Cycle will take place in August, raising vital funds for the Darby Rimmer MND Foundation.

  • Premier League, PFA & EFL announce BAME coach placement scheme

    The Premier League, PFA and EFL have launched a new coach placement scheme aimed at increasing the number of black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME) players transitioning into full-time coaching roles - in the professional game